The Chains of Habit

“The chains of habit are too weak to be felt until they are too strong to be broken.” —Samuel Johnson

First, please allow me to apologize for being a day late with this posting, but I was a day early a few weeks ago, so I guess it all evens out in the end. Truth be told, I’ve recently lost my muse, finding myself staring at the blank screen trying in earnest to get words to flow out of the tips of my fingers, but alas to no avail.

As I commenced with my nightly routine yesterday, that being watching one episode of a television program at eleven pm, reading three chapters of a novel at midnight, then one episode of the Twilight Zone before drifting off to sleep, a thought popped into my head. “Humans truly are creatures of habit.” Read about my daily beauty routine here and you’ll swear I’m a robot or something. As I awoke this morning, I proceeded to pop down to the laundromat as I do every single Thursday. Holding my basket in the lift and seeing my reflection in the mirror, this thought occurred to me again, and like Apollo catching a glimpse of Euterpe, my muse was immediately rekindled.

 

As creatures of habit we can become so accustomed to our daily routines that we get lost. We stick to what we know, perhaps out of fear of change or maybe simply because we remain ignorant to what else is right before us. This translates into our day-to-day lives through such acts as ordering the same meal at a restaurant, going to the same bar every weekend, or- like me- having a specific washing machine you like using every week and get annoyed when someone else has dared claim it for themselves.

Rhett
Running from any problems is actually a huge turn on for me. Hahahaha. -___-

Simultaneously this can also be applied to our dating life. Have you ever been asked the question, “What is your type?” (Six-foot, dark hair and chiseled jaw with a touch of stubble, artistic, yet obviously emotionally damaged and lacks clear communication skills, sign me up please.) In all seriousness, being afraid to step out of your comfort zone can lead to so many missed opportunities and potential dates. It’s often said that variety is the spice of life so mix it up every now and then. By sticking to one mold of person, if you will, you can’t truly appreciate how diverse our world really is. Furthermore, it should be obvious that if you’ve had a track of bad relationships with a certain character of person, that should be even more incentive to break that habit and try talking to someone you ordinarily wouldn’t. The worst thing that can happen is a polite no, or a bitchy snub in some cases…

meangirls.gif

My third point takes on an all together more acceptance stand point. Despite years of progress, we are far from blind to those different from us. The fact of the matter is a multitude of different races, religions, creeds, sexualities, and personalities exist. Don’t become so accustomed to your own culture that you forget to acknowledge others. I’m not suggesting the entire world assimilate into a single set of ideas, for we are stronger because we are different. Rather, appreciate them for what they are. Have a meal at an ethnic restaurant you normally wouldn’t try. Attend a service at a house of worship that isn’t your own. Don’t be afraid to have a casual conversation with someone sporting religious garb. We shouldn’t be here to hate, we should be here to Love.

culture

I confess I am absolutely steadfast in sticking to what I know. I have schedules detailed to the last minute that I follow devoutly. I am challenging myself to break these habits, to step outside my routine. Who knows what lies outside your norm, but I for one like to believe it may be something truly amazing.

I also challenge you all to do one thing you normally wouldn’t do and please share your stories down below!

Leave a Reply

